What I did before, during and after IAPTI’s Conference in Athens: Confessions of a freelance translator/mother-of-two.

It is true that I have spent a delightful professional weekend in Athens at IAPTI’s Conference on 20& 21 September, immersed in on&off topic translation issues, business advice and networking possibilities.

I have to confess it was a first for me, in many ways. It was the first time I ever attended an international translation conference, it was the first time I was among so many colleagues since my university years, it was the first weekend I have spend in the last 10 years that was strictly translation-related and it was the first time in 10 years that I have left my husband and daughters for a business trip! So, a lot of “firsts” there!

Now, what I did before going:

  • Packed my small black suitcase (no “little black dress” included!)
  • Made a note to not forget my fresh-out-of the digital oven business cards with my -new logo 400dpiLogo (2)
  • Picked a book to keep my company during the bus trip
  • Explained to my girls that this was a business (and not a holiday) trip (now quite sure they believed me)
  • Kissed my husband goodbye and promised to behave
  • And, last but not least, turned-on my business, professional, alas friendly mood on!

What I did at the Conference:

  • Met old and new friends
  • Made new business acquaitances
  • Saw my facebook translation forums come to life (the Leagues, the TTNS etc…)
  • Heard some of my favorite bloggers speak live (Kevin Lossner, Valeria Aliperta, Marta M Stelmaszak, Rose Newell and so forth)
  • Eavesdropped some very interesting translation gossips (but I never kiss and tell!)
  • And, last but not least, won one of the big prizes of the event, a Memoq licence (please, keep-away the green-eyed monster of jealously)

What I did after:

  • I set my mind thinking and planning, while preparing my little black suitcase for the ride home
  • Packed the new civil-law dictionary I had discovered on my bookstore raid on Friday
  • Bought some gifts for my little girls to make my absence worth-while
  • Finished my book on the bus home
  • And started taking notes for this (and other) blog post.

So, all in all, this is the before, during and after.

As for what I have learned, liked and thought about the Conference… well, that’s a whole new post!

Please, stay tuned!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What I did before, during and after IAPTI’s Conference in Athens: Confessions of a freelance translator/mother-of-two.

  1. You got the memoQ license, did you? I missed that. Well, a bonus for that will find you by e-mail… it was a pleasure to meet you.

  2. Thank you very much for this blog post! (and for having joined our conference, of course!)
    Au

  3. Maria Karra says:

    It was wonderful to meet you. Thank you for coming to the conference. I’m so happy you won the MemoQ license! 🙂

Leave a Reply

